We apologise

Davidson, Robert (2012) We apologise. London, UK, Warner Classics.

Attached Files (Some files may be inaccessible until you login with your UQ eSpace credentials)
Name Description MIMEType Size Downloads
Author Davidson, Robert
Title We apologise
Place of publication London, UK
Publisher Warner Classics
Publication date 2012-09-01
Series The Australian Voices (album)
ISBN 9790720138183
Total pages 1 recorded performance
Language eng
Subject 410101 Music
Recorded/Rendered Creative Work - Audio/Visual recording
Formatted Abstract/Summary
This highly innovative composition introduces a new technique to music by having singers imitate digital audio time stretching. Using audio time-stretching algorithms based on fast Fourier transforms, a short spoken phrase, "we apologise", is stretched to over 200 times its original duration. The resulting sound is then reproduced by a choir (The Australian Voices), and recorded. This new choral recording is then time-compressed back to the original length of the spoken phrase, which is heard to emerge in its original form, solely from the sound of the choir. There are a number of reflections informing the work. Firstly, the spoken phrase is taken from Prime Minister Kevin Rudd's National Apology to Indigenous Australians in Parliament on 13 February 2008. The stretching proportion reflects the difference between the duration of European compared to indigenous settlement in Australia, and also reflects the time taken to apologise compared to the time required to start real work on reconciliation. There is also an embracing of the resemblance to the Australian landscape intuitively felt in hearing the stretched sound of Rudd's voice. The work was nominated for vocal composition of the year at the 2012 Australian Classical Music awards.
Keyword Time stretching
Australian composition
Choral music
Electroacoustic music
Stolen generations
Kevin Rudd
Australian Labor Party
Australian parliament
Indigenous righs
Q-Index Status Provisional Code
Institutional Status Non-UQ
Additional Notes Artistic Director: Gordon Hamilton
LIST OF SINGERS: Stephanie Bazely, Ruth Beck, Roslyn Buitenhuis, Vivienne Calwell, Martin Cardell, Jaret Choolun, Timocles Copland, Susan Creese, Louis Dooner, Amber Evans, Nathan Falkenhagen, Andrew Firth, Melissa Gregory, Robert Gardam, Scott Griffin, Brooke Hamilton, Alex Harper, Edward Holland, Tali Kellam-Pearson, Annie Larson, Shane McPherson, Christina Nichols, Rosie O’Reilly, Jenny Pan, Fergus Parker, Dhanika Rubasinghe, Daniel Smerdon, Natalie Steinhardt, Kiri Patton, Mikaela Ward, Laura Williams, Katie Valenta.

Version Filter Type
Citation counts: Google Scholar Search Google Scholar
Created: Thu, 22 Jan 2015, 01:17:10 EST by Dr Robert Davidson on behalf of School of Music