Australian Bat Lyssavirus

Griffin, Paul (2014). Australian Bat Lyssavirus. In Victor L. Yu, Rainer Weber and Didier Raoult (Ed.), Infectious Disease and Antimicrobial Agents (pp. 1-1) Pittsburgh, PA, USA: Antimicrobe.

Author Griffin, Paul
Title of chapter Australian Bat Lyssavirus
Title of book Infectious Disease and Antimicrobial Agents
Place of Publication Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Publisher Antimicrobe
Publication Year 2014
Sub-type Chapter in textbook
Open Access Status
Series Antimicrobe
Editor Victor L. Yu
Rainer Weber
Didier Raoult
Chapter number 6
Start page 1
End page 1
Total pages 1
Total chapters 7
Language eng
Formatted Abstract/Summary
Australian bat lyssavirus (ABLV) is a member of the Lyssavirus genus of the family Rhabdoviridae. Lyssaviruses are enveloped single stranded negative sense RNA viruses. There are 14 known species of lyssaviruses segregated into three phylogroups. Phylogroup I is the largest and consists of the type species rabies virus (RABV), along with Duvenhage virus (DUVV), European bat lyssaviruses 1 and 2 (EBLV 1 and 2), Australian bat lyssavirus, Aravan virus (ARAV), Khujand virus (KHUV), Irkut virus (IRKV) and finally Bokeloh bat lyssavirus (BBLV). Phylogroup II consists of Lagos bat virus (LBV) and Mokola virus (MOKV). Phylogroup III includes West Caucasian bat virus (WCBV), Shimoni bat virus, (SHIBV) and Ikoma lyssavirus (IKOV). The recently discovered tentative lyssavirus, Lleida bat lyssavirus (LLEBV), remains to be classified. Analysis of the ABLV genome shows that it is distinct from the other lyssaviruses...
Q-Index Code BX
Q-Index Status Provisional Code
Institutional Status UQ

Document type: Book Chapter
Collection: School of Medicine Publications
Version Filter Type
Citation counts: Google Scholar Search Google Scholar
Created: Tue, 31 Mar 2015, 13:40:51 EST by Paul Griffin on behalf of Medicine - Mater Hospital