Johann Friedrich Fasch (1688–1758)

Owens, Samantha (2013) Johann Friedrich Fasch (1688–1758). Wellington, NZ, Radio New Zealand.

Author Owens, Samantha
Title Johann Friedrich Fasch (1688–1758)
Place of publication Wellington, NZ
Publisher Radio New Zealand
Publication date 2013-03-31
Series Concert-FM Composer of the Week talks
Total pages 1 Musical performance
Language eng
Formatted Abstract/Summary
Samantha Owens reviews the life and work of this German baroque composer.

9am Sunday 21 April and 7pm Monday 22 April 2013

Imagine a student audaciously labelling his composition with the name of a prominent local composer and then playing the work with fellow students to music enthusiasts in a nearby café. This is what Fasch did in his youth, passing off the composition as one by prominent Leipzig composer Georg Philipp Telemann and having it praised as one of that composer’s best.

It was an early triumph for Fasch who became one of the most important German contemporaries of Johann Sebastian Bach, yet we don’t know of him today. In this programme, Samantha Owens sheds some light on this shadowy figure.

FASCH: Ouverture, from Ouverture suite in D major (FWV K:D3) - Kammerorchester Basel, Julia Schröder (dir/vn) (DHM 88697 44641)
KUHNAU: Chorale, from Cantata, Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern - The King’s Consort, Robert King (cond)
TELEMANN: Komm o Schlaf, und lass mein Leid, from Germanicus - Nuria Rial (sop), Kammerorchester Basel
(DHM 88697 92256)
FASCH: Allegro from Concerto in C for bassoon concertato, strings, and basso continuo (FWV L:c 1) - Sergio Azzolini (bn), La Stravaganza Köln (CPO 777 015 )
FASCH: Du solt Gott, deinen Herrn, lieben, from Cantata Du sollst Gott, deinen Herrn, lieben (FWV D: D 10) - Klaus Mertens (bass), Das Kleine Konzert, Hermann Max (cond) (CPO 999 594)
FASCH: Allegro II, from Quadro in F major for 2 oboes, obligato bassoon and basso continuo (FWV N:F2) - Katharina Arfken (dir/ob), Ann-Kathrin Brüggemann (ob), Donna Agrell (bn), Karl-Ernst Schröder (lute), David Sinclair (string bass), Jörg-Andreas Botticher (hpd) (Harmonia Mundi HMC 905251)
FASCH: Concerto in D (FWV L: D3) - Il Gardellino (Accent ACC 24252)
FASCH: Air, from Ouverture suite in D major (FWV K:D3) - Kammerorchester Basel, Julia Schröder (dir/vn) (DHM 88697 44641)
Keyword Johann Friedrich Fasch
Baroque music
German court music

Version Filter Type
Citation counts: Google Scholar Search Google Scholar
Created: Wed, 19 Feb 2014, 06:30:09 EST by Dr Samantha Owens on behalf of School of Music