O'Loghlin, Michael (2006). Introduction. In Christoph Schaffrath, Günter von Zadow, Leonore von Zadow and Angela Koppenwallner (Ed.), Trio H-Moll für 2 Traversflöten (Violinen) und Basso continuo (pp. 3-4) Heidelberg, Germany: Edition Güntersberg.

Attached Files (Some files may be inaccessible until you login with your UQ eSpace credentials)
Name Description MIMEType Size Downloads
Author O'Loghlin, Michael
Title of chapter Introduction
Title of book Trio H-Moll für 2 Traversflöten (Violinen) und Basso continuo
Translated title of book Trio in B minor for 2 transverse flutes (violins) and basso continuo
Language of Book Title ger
Place of Publication Heidelberg, Germany
Publisher Edition Güntersberg
Publication Year 2006
Sub-type Introduction, foreword, editorial or appendix
Open Access Status
ISBN 9790501740826; M501740826
Editor Christoph Schaffrath
Günter von Zadow
Leonore von Zadow
Angela Koppenwallner
Volume number G082
Start page 3
End page 4
Total pages 2
Language eng
Formatted Abstract/Summary
Christoph Schaffrath war ein bedeutendes Mitglied der Berliner Schule , der Gruppe von Komponisten, die Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts am Hofe Friedrichs des Großen wirkte. Dieses Werk zeigt die Meisterschaft des Komponisten im spätbarocken freien kontrapunktischen Stil. Obwohl es großartig für Flöten geschrieben ist, kann es auch auf zwei Violinen oder auf Flöte und Violine gespielt werden.

Christoph Schaffrath was a significant member of the Berlin School , the group of composers who worked at the court of Frederick the Great in the middle of the eighteenth century. This work shows the composer's mastery of the late baroque free contrapuntal style. Although it is brilliantly written for flutes, it may also be played on two violins, or one flute and one violin.
Keyword Original Creative Works - Textual work
Q-Index Code BX
Q-Index Status Provisional Code
Institutional Status Non-UQ
Additional Notes English title: "Trio in B minor for 2 transverse flutes (violins) and basso continuo". Editor: Günter and Leonore von Zadow, publication date: 2006-01, introduction: Michael O’Loghlin, continuo realisation: Angela Koppenwallner, source: RISM: D-SWl 4840.

Document type: Book Chapter
Collections: ERA 2012 Admin Only
School of Music Publications
Version Filter Type
Citation counts: Google Scholar Search Google Scholar
Created: Mon, 09 Jan 2012, 15:16:52 EST by Michael O'loghlin on behalf of School of Music