Solomon Islands

Corrin Care, Jennifer (2009). Solomon Islands. In Stephen Levine (Ed.), Pacific ways: Government and politics in Pacific Islands (pp. 212-220) New Zealand: Victoria University Press.

Author Corrin Care, Jennifer
Title of chapter Solomon Islands
Title of book Pacific ways: Government and politics in Pacific Islands
Place of Publication New Zealand
Publisher Victoria University Press
Publication Year 2009
Sub-type Research book chapter (original research)
ISBN 9780864736178
Editor Stephen Levine
Start page 212
End page 220
Total pages 9
Total chapters 25
Collection year 2010
Language eng
Subjects B1
180119 Law and Society
940299 Government and Politics not elsewhere classified
Abstract/Summary When the South Pacific Forum held its first meeting in 1971 only seven member states participated – New Zealand, Australia, Fiji, Samoa, Tonga, Nauru and the Cook Islands. Today this organisation, now known as the Pacific Islands Forum and no longer confined to the ‘South Pacific’, includes 16 member states as well as a handful of associate member and observer member countries and organisations. At the same time, the literature on the politics of the Pacific Islands remains much slimmer than for other regions. This book redresses the balance by providing the kind of information for the Pacific that is readily available for nations in other parts of the globe. It provides expert chapters examining the politics of each Pacific Island state and territory, discussing its historical background and colonial experience, its constitutional framework, political institutions, political parties, elections and electoral systems, and problems and prospects. The book is comprehensive, covering all regions – Polynesia, Melanesia and Micronesia – and all countries, irrespective of their size or political status. The states and territories covered range in size from Australia and Papua New Guinea to the tiny islands of Tokelau, Rapa Nui (Easter Island) and Pitcairn. The independent countries discussed include Australia and New Zealand; Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and Fiji; Tonga, Samoa and Tuvalu; Niue and the Cook Islands, self-governing ‘in free association’ with New Zealand; Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands and Palau (Belau), independent ‘in free association’ with the United States; Kiribati and Nauru. [from publisher's website]
Q-Index Code B1
Q-Index Status Confirmed Code

Version Filter Type
Citation counts: Google Scholar Search Google Scholar
Created: Fri, 18 Dec 2009, 15:17:16 EST by Vivianne Mulder on behalf of T.C. Beirne School of Law